Register FAQ Upgrade Membership Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
Go Back   Vulcan Bagger Forums > Technical :: Maintenance :: Performance > Vulcan Nomad/Vaquero/Voyager

Old 12-02-2009, 06:22 PM   #1

To cover or not

I have an uninsulated garage and was wondering if you cover your bike in the winter. I received a pretty good cover this year but I've heard two different sides to this question. Some say a cover holds condensation, thus rusting certain parts, and some say cover it.

I've never used a cover before and never noticed rust being an issue. However, dust and dirt getting on the bikes without a cover, is a definite.

Login or Register to Remove Ads

Old 12-02-2009, 06:31 PM   #2

To cover or not

Insulate the garage!!

Old 12-02-2009, 06:50 PM   #3
Advanced Member

To cover or not

Once again, I am glad this is an issue we don't have to deal with here in A... oh- wait, someone else said that. :)

Flavor- it might depend on how humid your garage is, ya s'pose? Maybe as the snow starts to thaw in spring you could take it off, as it'd probably be pretty 'wet' in the garage.

Better put a good coat of paste wax on those Roadhouse pipes, that's for darn sure! :)

Old 12-02-2009, 06:54 PM   #4

To cover or not

I have a good outdoor cover that I've never used, but I would use it if I were on a trip and parked outside overnight. I bought a fairly cheap dust cover after I put the Voyager kit on, and I've been very pleased with that. It's light and breathes and keeps the dust off while it's parked in the garage.

Old 12-02-2009, 07:31 PM   #5
Top Contributor

To cover or not

Hi, I park the bike over the winter in a unheated shed next to the garage and cover the bike in a fitted motorcycle cover then put a tarp over that. Its there for about 5 months and no issues with rust so far.

Login or Register to Remove Ads

Old 12-02-2009, 07:58 PM   #6

To cover or not