Register FAQ Upgrade Membership Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
Go Back   Vulcan Bagger Forums > Technical :: Maintenance :: Performance > Vulcan Nomad/Vaquero/Voyager

Old 08-15-2009, 08:20 PM   #1

Question about riding 2 up

OK, here's a question for you guys:

I've been riding for several years but do not consider myself an expert or very experienced rider, by any stretch of the imagination. Anyway, I've just recently started to ride 2 up.

At the end of a very long day riding solo, my lower back is usually tight...no problem, I expect it and, when I remember, I stretch during breaks and it alleviates the problem.

Now that I'm riding 2 up, I get very tight (painfully so) between my shoulder blades. It happens after a fairly short period (60 - 100 miles). I've stopped and stretched out but, within 10 miles the pain comes back.

I'm not sure if it's due to:

1) an alteration in my riding position

2) or the way the bike handles, possibly needing more input from me, the operator

3) or because I'm just getting tense due the added responsibility of my passenger's safety and comfort while riding.

What do you guys (and gals) think? Have any of you experienced this? What did you narrow it down to? How did you reslove this?

I should add... this ONLY happens when I ride 2 up. I've ridden 80 miles to pick up my passenger with no problems. We went on an 80 mile round trip with several stops and breaks during the ride. The longest part was 30 miles or so. That was when the pain happened. I rode 80 miles back to my home afterwards, solo, and had no pain between the shoulders during that part of the ride.

I've only ridden 2 up three times so far and would like to do it more as we both enjoy the riding. The first 2 up ride was very short and there were no issues other than me getting used to riding 2 up. The second time was longer and I started experiencing teh same pain toward the end. This third time was the longest and most painful.