Register FAQ Upgrade Membership Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
Go Back   Vulcan Bagger Forums > General > Off-Topic

Old 05-27-2008, 03:30 PM   #1
Mega-Contributor

Something to ponder

As I was riding to Tucson yesterday it was just me and the open road. I had a lot of time to think about philosophical stuff, like this for example...

I see a lot of vehicles - mostly trucks, and the occasional car, with Harley Davidson stickers on them. I started thinking, "how many of these people actually own a Harley", and then taking it to the next level: "how many of these people actually ride anything at all"? I have a Denver Broncos sticker on my Bronco (go figure), that doesn't mean I am a professional football player. But it seems to me a Harley sticker is much more personal than an NFL/NASCAR/NBA sticker on a vehicle.

It's a rhetorical question, there's no answer to it. Just something to think about.
VBA #00105
H.O.G. #4250060

2011 H-D Ultra Limited 103ci

:: 2011 HD Electra Glide Ultra Limited w/Stage 1 ::

Rallies: Mesquite '08|Custer '09|Cortez '10|Crescent City '11|Kanab '12|Antlers '12|Estes Park '13|Antlers '13|Orofino '14|The Dalles '17

Login or Register to Remove Ads

Old 05-27-2008, 03:49 PM   #2
Top Contributor

Something to ponder

I think a lot, but not all, of the people with the Harley decals and stickers on their vehicles (and even the Harley special edition model of the Ford pick up truck) are just attempting to identify with the "biker" image. I believe it makes them feel good to think that when people see their stickers they will be impressed. I imagine that this is the underlying foundation of the entire marketing industry in selling "branded" clothes, hats, golf bags, etc. Nothing wrong with any of this in my opinion but it is an interesting pyschological aspect of the ego.

Cheers,
Bob

P.S. I like your new sig pic!

Bob
KawaNOW/VBA 210
Green/Silver 2006
Patriot Guard Riders 2009

Old 05-27-2008, 03:49 PM   #3