Register FAQ Upgrade Membership Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
Go Back   Vulcan Bagger Forums > Technical :: Maintenance :: Performance > Vulcan Nomad/Vaquero/Voyager

Old 04-14-2010, 09:58 PM   #1

Got to pay it back!

Almost four years ago, not so long after I started riding, I got stranded by a flat on the rear tire. It was about 3 O'clock on a Sunday in the middle of BFE, right next to nowhere. About 20 minutes into my walk to (I have no idea where I was going) to find help, a guy on a Goldwing stopped and picked me up, took me to the house which gave me just enough time to rent a trailer and go get my bike. This was no small thing for him as it was about 20 miles out of his way and he was late for a ball game because of his generousity. I couldn't thank him enough. Needless to say, I learned several things that day. I now carry a repair kit and pump, among other things.

But, that brings me to today. There is a section of road about 4 miles long near my house that is loaded with 5-6 90 degree turns marked for 25 MPH but with care could be taken up to 40 depending on the rider and bike. Anyway, 35 is more sane. The thing is, for about the past month there has been alot of construction on the main roads at both ends of this cut through, including the laying of new asphalt. They have been using this road as a depot for their equipment and doing repairs at various spots on this road with left over asphalt at odd days. There is no pattern to when they might get the urge to lay asphalt or put in a patch. Well, yesterday, they scared up about 300 yards of one end of this road and laid asphalt on one half of the road, leaving loose rocks and a pretty good drop off on the other half. :(" title="" border="0"/> Thing is, they start right at the beginning of the last set of curves so first there is a left sweeper, then a right sweeper with all this new construction and one lousy sign saying loose rocks right AFTER the construction begins. ???